21
Dec
05

Featured Website & More Files

The John Peel Tapes
One site that’s been around as long as any that I’m aware of is Jon’s ‘Right place, right time, wrong speed’. Currently linking to several Peel audio files including recently added Peeling Back The Years – JP interviewed by John Walters in 1987 – recently aired again on BBC 6Music, here’s your chance to hear any you missed. The files rotate from time to time and it’s low-key sober approach marks it out as one of the best in my opinion.
The John Peel Tapes

Jon also links to the infamous Punk Rock Special from 1976 and by coincidence it’s also featured here in possibly a different form. The one from Jon’s site sounds fine to me but completists may wish to check this out as well. I’ve not downloaded it myself yet so I’m afraid I can’t give you any more info other than what the original uploader has stated here:
John Peel – Punk Rock Special – 10th. December 1976 (Remaster) [83MB]


2 Responses to “Featured Website & More Files”


  1. 1 DuffPaddy
    2005/12/31 at 15:06

    I’m the original uploader of the remastered Punk Rock Special. I’ve not messed around with it very much at all, just performed a bit of a tidy-up.

    Some of the track markers on the version that was going around were in odd places, sometimes in the middle of tracks. So I’ve simply redone the thing so that tracks start and end at logical places (usually just at the point Peel introduces the track). Also, the middle of the Pere Ubu track was missing because of a tape flip, so I’ve reinstated that to its full glory. I’ve done no other tinkering to try and ‘improve’ the sound quality, etc., as such ‘improvements’ are often botch jobs in my experience.

    So it’s up to the individual to decide whether it’s worth an 83Mb download for a version that’s only slightly changed.

  2. 2 domestic empire
    2006/01/02 at 04:30

    Thanks for the input ‘paddy. That’s good to know.

    :-)


Comments are currently closed.

Archives


Fascism Back is in Vogue – and it affects us all.

No ulterior motive…

Art not Ads!

Highly Recommended…

John Peel Sessions by Ken Garner
~
Book - Bad Science
~
Book - Belching out the Devil

copy

Creative Commons License
All textual content at johnpeel.net is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License. Unless otherwise indicated, this does not include audio files or image files, which remain the property of the respective copyright holder.

numbers

  • 128,326
pr38222 hits counter

Disclaimer

We're only human.

