30
Nov
07

Thank Phantom It’s Repost Friday

Here, as promised, are the requested reposts. See you next week (“,)

John Peel Radio Interview Auckland 2002:
| John Peel Interview
| Original post with torrent link
– contributed by John B

John Peel’s Phantom Fifty 1991:
| Phantom Fifty Part 1 of 6
| Phantom Fifty Part 2 of 6
| Phantom Fifty Part 3 of 6
| Phantom Fifty Part 4 of 6
| Phantom Fifty Part 5 of 6
| Phantom Fifty Part 6 of 6
| Original post
– Contributed by And

Getting Into Radio Introduced by John Peel (1999):
| Get Into Radio
| Original post
– Contributed by me


12 Responses to “Thank Phantom It’s Repost Friday”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    2007/12/03 at 12:46

    I do appreciate the reposting of the Phantom, but what is a rar file?

    I assume some sort of compression, can I get free de-compression software? Are the sound files in mp3.

    Mike

  2. 2 domestic empire
    2007/12/03 at 13:13

    Try these freebies Mike. Mac users see link at the foot of this comment.

    ExtractNow
    (free, donationware) PC
    http://www.extractnow.com/
    Supports ZIP, RAR, ISO, BIN, IMG, IMA, IMZ, 7Z, ACE, JAR, GZ, LZH, LHA, TAR, SIT archive formats.

    7-Zip
    (free software distributed under the GNU LGPL) PC
    http://www.7-zip.org
    Supported formats: 7z, ZIP, CAB, RAR, ARJ, GZIP, BZIP2, Z, TAR, CPIO, RPM and DEB

    Alternatives and options for Mac users are in the post I made a while ago here

    Any problems: just ask (“,)

  3. 3 Anonymous
    2007/12/04 at 11:03

    Used the extract now,fine. But, I can only get pts 3 & 4, as the zip links don’t work for others. All I need is the 8 digit numbers in the middle of the http addresses for the rar files & I should be able to get the others.

    Did you stitch together the individual tracks? Are they available seperately (1-10 are in one of the torrents)

  4. 4 domestic empire
    2007/12/04 at 11:25

    Try the links again. I just checked and they are all working. You may have caught the servers down for maintenance.

    Yes they are all joined though I don’t know how that compares with what is in the torrent because I don’t have that particular torrent yet.

    As it says in the post this version of the Phantom Fifty was original contributed and uploaded by And from the Yahoo Peel Newsgroup. I just reposted them when the links died.

    Good luck – you should be ok now though (“,)

  5. 5 So It Goes
    2007/12/05 at 13:50

    And it’s well worth downloading! I can only gawp at the patience it must have taken to stitch the Phantom Fifty together from a year’s worth of programmes. Nice one yet again Gary.

  6. 6 Anonymous
    2007/12/05 at 14:29

    I still can’t get pts 1 & 2 (zips).

  7. 7 And
    2007/12/06 at 21:44

    Not so much patience as desperation! It was only over the first 6 months of 1993 not a full year. I was panicking that it would creep into July and cause problems on my wedding night!

  8. 8 Anonymous
    2007/12/07 at 16:08

    I remember I had to go back to my car from a party to listen to no2 being played before returning to said party. I didn’t tape any of it tho’ (doh), therefore please repost pts 1 & 2 and (or Mr D.E.)
    Mike

  9. 9 domestic empire
    2007/12/07 at 18:05

    Mike:
    Parts 1 & 2 are fine, as are the rest. I’ve just checked them myself again plus the download logs confirm people are downloading them ok so I’m unsure what the problem is. {“_”}

    Email me specifics Mike and we’ll sort it! (“,)

  10. 10 DuffPaddy
    2007/12/08 at 11:43

    Thanks for the repost, Gary!

    And big thanks to And for getting this all together. It’s an astonishingly obsessive labour of love even by the standards of us Peeliacs. Even Peel’s comments from previous programmes are included, to put it all into perspective. Brilliantly done.

  11. 11 Onion Terror
    2007/12/09 at 13:56

    Each file is only 1Kb so something has gone wrong there.

  12. 12 DuffPaddy
    2007/12/09 at 22:54

    OT: Check the contents of those 1K files and all will be revealed…


Comments are currently closed.

Archives


Fascism Back is in Vogue – and it affects us all.

No ulterior motive…

Art not Ads!

Highly Recommended…

John Peel Sessions by Ken Garner
~
Book - Bad Science
~
Book - Belching out the Devil

copy

Creative Commons License
All textual content at johnpeel.net is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License. Unless otherwise indicated, this does not include audio files or image files, which remain the property of the respective copyright holder.

numbers

  • 128,326
pr38222 hits counter

Disclaimer

We're only human.

