02
Jan
08

20041004 Robert Smith Guest Presenter

*Happy New Fuckin’ Year? Were You Born Yesterday?
I’m a contrary bugger and whimsical with it. Instead of continuing to post the reposts I’ve uploaded this Robert Smith show instead. I haven’t abandoned the others. They will get posted. And if you’re wondering where the reply to your email is, I’m sorry. I’m bad. I haven’t dealt with any of them. I have no defence :(

If you like this site don’t forget to click on the ads or donate something! Heh, only kidding. There be no corporate-cock-sucking greedy bastards round these parts. I don’t think any of the Peel sites do that sort of thing do they? My HOSTS file and UserJS Scripts filter out about 90+% of all online ads so it can be difficult to tell unless there is an obvious gap in the layout where an ad should be, or by viewing the source. Why am I mentioning this? No idea. Just riffing I think.

No, I remember now. I saw a site recently that was hosted by blogger (zero cost) and linked to files on various free hosts but stated, “Please help me keep this great blog going by clicking on any of the google ads. This is the only way I can make enough money to keep this blog up”. Translated this reads, “Give me money to buy records with.” What a cunt? Mind you, the phrase, “A fool and his money are soon departed” comes to mind here. After all, the reason Spam Email exists and continues to proliferate is due to the kind of twat that couldn’t smell a rat in a sewer full of rats. So maybe this chap is just fishing for fools? Not so dumb after all.

OK, here’s what you actually came for then: Robert Smith
| http://rapidshare.com/files/80498627/20041004RobertSmith.part1.rar
| http://rapidshare.com/files/80498628/20041004RobertSmith.part1.sfv
| http://rapidshare.com/files/80511588/20041004RobertSmith.part2.rar
| http://rapidshare.com/files/80511589/20041004RobertSmith.part2.sfv
| http://rapidshare.com/files/80519825/20041004RobertSmith.part3.rar
| http://rapidshare.com/files/80519826/20041004RobertSmith.part3.sfv

Technical Gubbins:
Size: 170.44 MB (12% of original, 8 to 1 compression)
Original Size: 1.33 GB
Length: 2 hours 4 minutes
Channels: 2 (stereo)
Sample Rate: 48 KHz;
Sample Size: 16 bit
Bit Rate: 192 kbps
Encoder: QDesign (Guess)
Encoder Settings: Constant Bit Rate 192 kbps
Audio Quality: Medium (Lossy)
Channel Mapping: Left, Right
File: 20041021RobertSmithGuestPresenter

All direct links this time. Too tired for anything else today.

“What the bloody hell’s an sfv file?”
“A checksum is a form of redundancy check, a simple way to protect the integrity of data by detecting errors in data that are sent through space (telecommunications) or time (storage). It works by adding up the basic components of a message, typically the asserted bits, and storing the resulting value. Anyone can later perform the same operation on the data, compare the result to the authentic checksum, and (assuming that the sums match) conclude that the message was probably not corrupted.”

More about cheksums:
| http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Checksum

* Or to quote one of the more succinct lines from Alan Bennett’s excellent The History Boys, when asked to how he would define the History, Rudge replied, “How do I define history? Well, it’s just one fucking thing after another.”

I suppose what I’m trying to say here, in my usual roundabout way, is HAPPY NEW YEAR AND DON’T LET THE BASTARDS GRIND YOU DOWN.

Ah, don’t you wish you were me? It’s a laugh a minute round here I can tell you. No actually it is. You don’t think I take any of this seriously do you? Or do I? Or do you?


6 Responses to “20041004 Robert Smith Guest Presenter”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    2008/01/02 at 10:18

    Happy New Year DE

    You ARE appreciated.

    Mike B

  2. 2 Dick le Grande
    2008/01/03 at 19:30

    Thanks for this, but the links don’t work ! The Underworld guest show is great ; would love to hear the full Siouxsie guest show in good (128 or above) quality ….
    I love those shows where someone plays their fave sounds, including some recent stuff they like.

  3. 3 So It Goes
    2008/01/04 at 02:21

    Happy New Year Gary: I’m using your header, and it looks great! stay alive, and best wishes.

  4. 4 Anonymous
    2008/01/05 at 13:53

    The Smith show is also available over on Fades in Slowly. As soon as I recover from tonsilitis I’ll post the Siouxsie show.

    FiS

  5. 5 domestic empire
    2008/01/05 at 14:59

    He’s right you know: http://fadesinslowly.blogspot.com/2007/05/robert.html

    Sorry Adam I missed that one originally. Hope you feel better soon :-)

  6. 6 entrailicus
    2008/01/09 at 07:32

    Finally postsed the Siouxsie show, had lots of trouble uploading recently!

    FiS


Comments are currently closed.

Top Posts

Archives


Fascism Back is in Vogue – and it affects us all.

No ulterior motive…

Art not Ads!

Highly Recommended…

John Peel Sessions by Ken Garner
~
Book - Bad Science
~
Book - Belching out the Devil

copy

Creative Commons License
All textual content at johnpeel.net is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License. Unless otherwise indicated, this does not include audio files or image files, which remain the property of the respective copyright holder.

numbers

  • 128,334
pr38222 hits counter

Disclaimer

We're only human.

