11
Mar
08

(Audio) Waving, Not Drowning

I didn’t intend this to be a proper posting but such is the conversational style of my writing it’s already become too long to be contained in a single paragraph.

Apologies once again for the lack of activity here but I am devoting energy, what there is of it, to concentrate on recording my own work. I’ve invested a fair few quid over the years on my humble little studio and I need to prove, at least to myself, this has been worthwhile. Writing is the easy part. Recording I find a chore so I need to completely immerse myself in order to get anything done. I also feel the need to step away from this site for a while to get some perspective. Whatever the hell that means. I shall still post but for the time being they shall be even less regular than usual – if such a thing is possible!

I don’t want you to think I’ve been completely idle. Here are two possible ways the site might go:
| Version 1 : lo-fi
| Version 2 : hi-fi

Peel Bites
John Peel Wiki
Be part of the community and contribute your vast knowledge. The wiki about John Peel that anyone can edit.

John Peel Torrents
The torrent feed is back online and working again. Apologies for the downtime.

Emails Quickies
Iain, re. Peel audio restoration: Many thanks. I shall forward my address to you. Andrew, Re. Joe Strummer/Pulp, it was at the Wedgewood Rooms not the Pyramids, with Elastica supporting and the much missed Joe Strummer at the after show do. I do have some on and off stage pics from this and a Wedding Present gig, from my time as music journo, that I really must get around to scan and Flickr one of these days. But that’s incidental and like most things will happen in the ‘fullness of time’. In the meantime on the subject of rock photography, have a look at these very talented clickers.

James Cadden:
| Flickr
| MySpace

Valerio Berdini:
| liveon35mm.com

There are, as usual, quite a number of other emails I need to follow up besides those. I apologise.

My favourite records of the moment, should you be interested in such a notion, are The Weather Clock by July Skies, Dandelion Gum by Black Moth Super Rainbow. Links to audio further down…

And finally please don’t forget to Pledge Your Support for Andy Kershaw. He’s obviously been thrown off balance at the moment and nobody wishes this sort of thing for themselves or those around them. None of us can be absolutely sure how we might act under moments of great stress. We can all talk righteously when it’s not us that’s affected. Many thanks to those who have already left words of support here. I hope that he soon finds the strength to regain control of his life for the benefit of all concerned.

| July Skies music @MySpace
| Black Moth Super Rainbow mp3s

Be seeing you…


3 Responses to “(Audio) Waving, Not Drowning”


  1. 1 entrailicus
    2008/03/13 at 09:50

    All the best with the recording

  2. 2 entrailicus
    2008/03/13 at 09:52

    … and the hi-fi version, naturally!

  3. 3 domestic empire
    2008/03/17 at 12:24

    Many thanks Mr. e – looking forward to hearing more music from you too.

    Well yes I know the hi-fi version looks swish ‘n all but making such a strict template design also means making it cross-browser compliant. And this, to borrow from the vernacular, was doin’ me ‘ead in mush.

    It’s all about detail if one wishes for more functionality but I can’t be arsed right now. (“;)


Comments are currently closed.

Top Posts

Archives


Fascism Back is in Vogue – and it affects us all.

No ulterior motive…

Art not Ads!

Highly Recommended…

John Peel Sessions by Ken Garner
~
Book - Bad Science
~
Book - Belching out the Devil

copy

Creative Commons License
All textual content at johnpeel.net is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License. Unless otherwise indicated, this does not include audio files or image files, which remain the property of the respective copyright holder.

numbers

  • 128,334
pr38222 hits counter

Disclaimer

We're only human.

