27
Jan
09

The Big O (updated)

Shades and a mean guitar...genius.

Shades and a mean guitar...genius.

I must admit, I’d never heard about this documentary, but I wouldn’t pass up the opportunity to hear it.  And John  was always good at the documentary thing.

At midnight on 29  and 30 January, BBC6 is broadcasting a two-part documentary about Roy Orbison, narrated by Peel, who was always a great fan, and in fact chose It’s Over as one of his Desert Island Discs. Where I live (South Korea), I’ll be able to make morning coffee and toast for myself and my wife while listening, as opposed to staggering back bleary-eyed from the pub and then finding you missed it.

I particularly like a story JP wrote for the Times in 1994 when he described seeing him live just before he died: one wobbly start (with Running Scared, I think), then the voice of a god came through. Sheila believes he would have nominated the Ipswich gig as one of his best ever.

[UPDATED]
Link in comments.


4 Responses to “The Big O (updated)”


  1. 2009/01/28 at 08:19

    Wow thanks for letting me know about this Steve.

    I saw the programme listed and thought to myself, “Peel would’ve like that”. I hadn’t realised John was narrating the thing. Makes sense though of course. Isn’t funny how this internet thing works, that I should hear about it via Korea? How on earth did we used to cope I wonder?

  2. 2 Anonymous
    2009/01/28 at 16:01

    New Rapidshare Search Engine with a lot of Rapidshare.com links.

    Rapid4shared.com

    Enjoy!!!!

  3. 2009/02/27 at 15:06

    Thanks for flagging this up I just can’t believe I missed it and one tape it?

    I have just created a spotify playlist for the John Peel Festive 50 1988. Come and have a listen.

  4. 2009/03/12 at 07:39

    Thanks to billfromnorthwales for this file. My own copy is archived on a disc somewhere. How’s that laziness?

    http://rapidshare.com/files/208231399/TheBigOH.zip
    44.1 KHz/16 bit/128 kbps/CBR
    53.1 MB (55714152 bytes)
    58m20s


Comments are currently closed.

Top Posts

Archives


Fascism Back is in Vogue – and it affects us all.

No ulterior motive…

Art not Ads!

Highly Recommended…

John Peel Sessions by Ken Garner
~
Book - Bad Science
~
Book - Belching out the Devil

copy

Creative Commons License
All textual content at johnpeel.net is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License. Unless otherwise indicated, this does not include audio files or image files, which remain the property of the respective copyright holder.

numbers

  • 128,334
pr38222 hits counter

Disclaimer

We're only human.

